The final countdown!

The excitement is reaching fever pitch at “Matilda’s Rest” with only three more sleeps to go, so this is probably the last post on my blog before me,  the “old git” and the “old gal” – aka “Team Tandem Ecosse” – head off for Bordeaux.

Just a quickie really, as it’s all go – what with the packing, and list making, and of course the new list making! I mean, if you sit still long enough the “old git” will either pack you or attach you to his lists on his officious looking clipboard!

But the long-suffering “old gal” – who has been doing lots of sweet smiling – knows it’s all to ensure that nothing is left to chance, and we have everything we could possibly need with us to cover every eventuality.

Last night it was my turn for final preparations, and the “old gal” gave me a nice wash and polish up. I must say, if I was chocolate I would eat myself as my paintwork is really gleaming! I even got my chain lubricated – and you know what a difference a wee bit of lubrication can make at my age!

Next up, it was checking the tool kit, and the first aid kit, before packing them into my nifty panniers – which also now contain emergency hi-vis vests, a picnic kit, and sun cream!

Yes the sun cream (and sunglasses) hopefully will be essentials as the forward weather forecast for the area around Pauillac in Bordeaux is showing 25 C for the first few days of tandeming on the tour of the Vineyards and Beaches of Bordeaux. My dynamic duo could possibly even return home with Tour de France arms! (but certainly not Tour de France bodies!!!)

So that’s me all packed and raring to go. The “old git” and the “old gal” just have to get their tandeming gear gear together now – team shirts and padded shorts – and pack up their other clothes for the evenings.

So the schedule is mad packing Friday night, I get packed into Tandem Transporter Saturday afternoon, then the “Grand Depart” on Sunday at 8 am.

You can follow the route here on the Trip Notes from travel company Exodus, which also has lots of other interesting information on the tour. The “old gal” is certainly hoping that their rating of “leisurely and tranquil” cycling is accurate!

Just before I go – as the “old git” is ticking off some other instruction – I wanted to share with you again this cheeky tandeming mock-up image that a pal of the “old gal” sent her via Facebook. I mean, it fair took my breath away!

Cheeky image from one of the "old gal's" pals!

Cheeky image of how one of  the “old gal’s” pals sees my dynamic duo

Quite shocking! As if you would ever see the “old gal” and the “old git” tandeming like that. I mean the “old git” never wears socks with his sandals!!!! That is just a major no!!!!!

But I had a quick word with them both, just in case, and they have both promised that they will not be  getting up to any of that behaviour in Bordeaux – after all, as the “old gal” said: “Naked tandeming would be a bit sore on my bum!” Zut alors!

So after that shocking image here is one of “Team Tandem Ecosse’s” favourites from last year’s trip to Burgundy – showing me in all my glory in a sun-drenched village. Finger’s crossed it will be like this in Bordeaux.

Hopefully Bordeaux will be like this!

Hopefully Bordeaux will be sunny like this!

So please do “follow” the blog to keep track on our adventures. And we’d love you to get in touch during the tour – by leaving a comment on the blog – or just to wish us “Bon Chance”!

6 thoughts on “The final countdown!

  1. Well it sounds as though the three of you are almost ready for the off, am sure you will all have an amazing time. But as for the suncream and sunglasses – well they have certainly been required here in Bonnie Scotland these last few days. Look forward to your French tales Matilda. Have fun.

    Like

  2. Love the idea of the ‘Old Git’ packing emergency high-vis vests into the panniers…they could hardly be more high-vis than those snazzy new T-shirts that you had made for the trip! Have a wonderful time and enjoy the wine! Bon voyage!

    Like

Leave a Reply

